January Reading Analysis

Hi everyone. Wow, January sped by pretty fast, didn’t it? Or at least it certainly felt that way for me. I’ve been busy at work and then at weekends most of my time has been taken up with wedding bits and pieces, which has left me far less time for reading than I’m used to.  That being said, what I have picked up, I’ve really enjoyed; January has definitely been a month for reading chunksters  and it’s been so nice getting through some reads that have been sat on my shelves for a while, as well as some books I was gifted at Christmas.

I finished 13 books in January, which is certainly my lowest monthly total in a long time, if not ever! Of these, 8 were fiction and 5 were non-fiction. I’m really happy to start the year off with more non-fiction than I usually get through and I hope this trend continues.

My favourite book in the month was without a doubt The Bookshop Book by Jen Campbell, which I’m already pretty sure is going to be one of my top reads of 2015. That’s gotten January off to a great start for me reading-wise.  I also really enjoyed The Six Wives of Henry VIII by Alison Weir, which was a genuinely interesting, informative account of what is fast becoming one of my favourite periods in history.  I have a lot more books about Tudor times to dive into and I can’t wait to get stuck into them!

I didn’t have any disappointing reads in February at all, though I have been reading Salem’s Lot now for what feels like forever. Maybe I’m just not in the mood for it? I might put it to one side for a while and go back to it later on; we’ll see.

I’m so excited about February, for a lot of reasons. Firstly, it’s my birthday towards the start of the month which means…yes,  you guessed it: more books! This year my fiancé has bought me a lot of second-hand books as well as some newer titles, which means I’ve had fun perusing charity shops for things that I’ve been wanting to read. When I stumble across them in there, it’s a really nice feeling- plus there’s that satisfaction of helping charities out too. I donate a lot of our read books to charity shops when I run out of space in our house (which is relatively often), so it’s nice to complete the circle.

Also in February we are going on the Warner Bros Harry Potter studio tour. I CANNOT WAIT for this. I got my fiancé the tickets for Christmas and both of us are big Harry Potter fans and so, so excited to finally go and see where the films were shot and actually walk down Diagon Alley. I hope we can take lots of pictures!  I really wish I had time to read the books again for the fourth? fifth? time before we go, but I highly doubt that is going to happen!

So, as you can see, another busy month ahead. I’m not quite sure where that is going to leave me in terms of time for reading, but I always manage to make the space to squeeze in those books somewhere!  Happy February everyone and I hope you all have a lovely reading month.

Leave a Reply

