June Reading Analysis

Oh Woe is me. My Kindle crashed forever at the start of June. It’s one of the really old, early models and I’ve had it for almost five years, but still… I was literally 80% of the way through a book for review at the time too, which luckily I managed to complete via the really awkward Kindle app on my phone. 

After temporarily resurrecting itself multiple times and giving me false hopes (I even started reading another book on it!), it finally fizzled out again for the last time- and with more of a whimper than a bang. Though the whimpering was mostly mine, by that point. No amount of rebooting and Googling solved the problem. For me, Google (or my tech-savvy fiancé) can fix just about anything technical. I just had a blank screen (even the terrifying standby author portraits of Agatha Christie and DH Lawrence had vanished entirely) and most importantly I couldn’t access any of my titles. Annoyingly, I’d also downloaded a couple of books I hadn’t read yet that had been on offer (for my holidays)- but there’s no way I’m going to be reading them on my phone. A teeny tiny phone screen does not a pleasurable reading experience make! June reading analysis 

I suppose this now means that I will have to go and buy a new Kindle. Preferably in time for our next long holiday. Whilst I do like the newer models and was planning on buying one before our honeymoon next year anyway, I have to admit that I was pretty attached to my old Kindle, always reliable up until 8:40am on June 6th 2014 at least. 

R.I.P Buddy- or “Kindy” as you were affectionately known. 

In the meantime and in the absence of any Kindle, I spent much of June reading my way through paperbacks that feel like they’ve been stored on my shelves forever. Though not quite the case, admittedly some have been there a very long time and it was good to read them and either keep them or pass them on to charity shops or for friends to borrow. I did have a bit of a scary moment however, when I finished the paperback I was reading at work and didn’t have anything else on me to read for my commute home. I’m so used to always lugging my Kindle around with me as well as at least one paperback, after all. I’d call that a rookie mistake, but I really should know better. Now, I always make sure I have 2 paperbacks in my bag- whatever I’m reading and a spare in case I get done. That will be the case until I replace my Kindle! 

I finished 26 books in June. After a slow reading start I seemed to start speeding my way through, though a lot of them were admittedly pretty short books- only a couple of chunksters in there and no non-fiction reads either. I really must start reading some non-fiction again! My favourite books of the month were A Man Called Ove which I reviewed on behalf of Lovereading (going to be one of my top reads this year without a doubt!) and The Grapes of Wrath by Steinbeck, a Guardian list read which I found to be much better than East of Eden, though plot-wise not very much actually happens. The ending was also a bit abrupt, but I enjoyed the book a lot; it was also one of my Penguin orange classics, which heightened the reading experience 🙂 

I completed some other Guardian reads too- including The Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy, which I listened to on audio book and found to be more entertaining than I expected, though that was probably to do with Douglas Adam’s brilliant narrative skills. I’m more of a fan of classic or speculative science fiction (H.G Wells, John Wyndham, Margaret Atwood etc) but liked it. I also started to read Notes from the Underground by Dostoevsky, but then as a result of the aforementioned Kindle crash, I’ve been unable to finish it- at least for the meantime. By the time I get the chance to pick it up again, I’ll probably have to go back to the beginning. At the moment I’m reading Wilkie Collins The Woman in White, which is a great Victorian-gothic mystery novel- at least so far, though at a whopping 720 pages, understandably it is taking me a while to get through. 

I read a lot of chick-lit and suspense in June as well. The suspense was mainly because I had a back catalogue of Mary Higgins Clark books given to me by my mum a few years ago that I wanted to read and pass on to the charity shop to clear my shelves, so I read a few of them and have some more left to go. It’s easy, fast-paced reading, though some of the content does feel a bit out of date now. The chick-lit was partially down to the fact I had some to review, but also because I really wanted some escapist reading as I’m in getting ready to switch my brain off for a holiday, mode! I’ve enjoyed picking up some chick-lit though, I have to be in the mood to read it and I tend to go through phases, but its good to enjoy light-hearted, romantic reading from time to time, especially with all these classics I’ve been ploughing through. 

I didn’t read any especially terrible books in June either, to be honest. I had my doubts when I started Tender is the Night but I ploughed on with it, regardless. I ended up liking the majority of it, too, though it’s certainly not my favourite F. Scott Fitzgerald book to date. 

On the personal front, things are still going well with our keep-fit regime; I’ve been swimming, visiting the gym and walking and jogging regularly each week. With just under 10 months to go until our wedding (eek!) I am on target to shed the remaining weight that I want to lose (only 9lb’s now!)- and most importantly, maintain it. We have also just booked a holiday for the start of September- a beach holiday for the first time for a couple of years- and I am delighted to have a new wardrobe for it- a couple of dress sizes smaller than I was this time last year. I have lost 35lbs to date and I am really, really proud of myself.

We’re also off on a short break to Northumberland in early July as my fiancé turns 30, so I will be absent from the blog for a few days then at least. I’m hoping to visit Barter Books in Alnwick and pick up a few more Penguin classics whilst I’m up there, too. Here’s hoping that July continues to be as warm and sunny! I hope everyone has a brilliant month 🙂

Leave a Reply

