Snapshot Reviews

I’ve picked up some pretty enjoyable books lately in between reading books for review and whatnot. Actually, I don’t think I’ve read any rubbish books in June at all– which is very good news.

Miranda’s Big Mistake; Jill Mansell- the ultimate in frothy, frivolous chick-lit from one of the best authors in the genre! This entertaining, escapist read follows trainee hairdresser Miranda who thinks she’s found the man of her dreams in the delectable Greg. The only trouble is, he’s neglected to tell her about the wife and unborn baby that he’s just walked out on…

Despite some slightly more serious themes in there, I loved the relatable, likeable characters and humour in this chunky book and its guaranteed happy ending. It’s one of Mansell’s older reads, but certainly a goodie. I reckon this would make a really excellent, non-taxing beach read. 4 stars out of 5.

The Grapes of Wrath; John Steinbeck- a classic that needs no real introduction. One of my favourite reads of the month despite its slightly bizarre, abrupt ending, it is a story of poverty and chasing the ideal of the supposed American Dream. Bleak yet beautiful, this character-driven tale follows the Joad family who head to California during the Depression in order to try and find work. I loved how masterfully Steinbeck weaves the characters dialogue and just how atmospheric this book was. 4.5 stars out of 5.

Haunted; James Herbert- the first of Herbert’s books featuring ghost-hunting skeptic David Ash. This is your typical haunted house type mystery and was imbued with atmosphere and some chills. Though not my favourite Herbert novel, this was entertaining and held my attention throughout. 4 stars out of 5.

We’ll Meet Again; Mary Higgins Clark- following her release from prison for the manslaughter of her husband, which she has always denied, Molly is determined to prove her innocence and recruits investigative journalist Fran to help clear her name. When Molly is indicted for another murder however, it is evident that someone has it out for her; the question is, why?

As ever with Clark’s books, her characters are strong and have depth to them. Her writing is pacey and atmospheric, even though sometimes the content perhaps feels a bit dated. Dubbed ‘The Queen of Suspense,’ if you haven’t picked up an MHC novel before, it’s worth starting with this one. 4 stars out of 5.

Prep; Curtis Sittenfeld- I must confess that I don’t really ‘get’ all of the comparisons between this novel and The Secret History by Donna Tartt. The only thing similar (at least that I can ascertain) is that both books happen to be set in a boarding school. Anyways, I have just completed this and found it to be a decent read, though it seems to be a book that divides people- just check out all of the reviews on Goodreads if you want proof of this!

Prep is a coming of age story set at the prestigious New England school of Ault. It follows three years of Lee Fiora’s life there and the classmates and faculty members she encounters along the way. Intelligent yet introverted and sometimes self-destructive, I really enjoyed getting to know Lee herself and the other Ault students, though this is certainly a slow-burning, character-driven tale rather than plot-heavy. 4 stars out of 5.

I hope everyone has a great weekend- my parents are coming to stay with us so I’m looking forward to another clothes shopping expedition with my mum this Saturday! I’m not going to get much reading done, if any, but that really doesn’t phase me in the slightest! 🙂

One response to “Snapshot Reviews

  1. Pingback: June Reading Analysis | my good bookshelf·

Leave a Reply

