Lovereading Reader Review: A Man Called Ove; Fredrik Backman

In June, in conjunction with Sceptre (Hodder and Stoughton) books, I was sent a review copy of the Swedish literary phenomenon A Man Called Ove. This amazing book is now an international bestseller and after experiencing it for myself, it’s not difficult to see why. The story had me alternatively laughing and crying (I was reading this at work and wanted to wail out loud but couldn’t) and eagerly turning the pages- so much so that for me, this became another one-sitting read.

Ove2

From the outset Ove seems like just another grumpy old man. Cantankerous and abrupt to the point of rudeness he has no friends; people avoid him like the plague. He spends his days inspecting the local neighbourhood for rule breakers, even though he was unceremoniously fired as the Chairman of the Resident’s Association some years back.

But behind Ove’s grumpiness there is of course a story- a tale of love, of friendship, of family and of sadness. When one morning his new neighbours accidentally flatten his letterbox, what starts off is a chain of unexpected events and possibly even friendship…

Wow. I loved this quirky, wonderful book. Loved it. In fact, I love it so much that I want everyone I know to read it, just so we can talk about it. It’s undoubtedly going to be one of my top reads of the year. 5 out of 5 stars from me!

You can see what I (and other readers) thought of the book here. This fabulous novel hits shelves in the UK in July so be sure to check it out.

Thanks to both Lovereading and Sceptre for the review opportunity.

3 responses to “Lovereading Reader Review: A Man Called Ove; Fredrik Backman

  1. Pingback: June Reading Analysis | my good bookshelf·

  2. Pingback: 2014: My Year of Reading | my good bookshelf·

Leave a Reply

