Sunday Ramblings: A little shopping spree…

I know, I know, I said that I wouldn’t buy many new books this year.

But Penguin Classics are different- a whole other ball game. They are exempt from that resolution entirely, as a matter of fact.

Because really, when you browse in second-hand bookshops and see tempting beauties such as these on the shelves:

IMAG0271

…it would be rude not to, wouldn’t it?

I can’t wait to read these and have them join the other classics on my shelf. I have a nice little collection of them building now.

I picked these up from Scrivener’s Books and Bookbinding in Derbyshire.-five whole floors of books in a fantastic old building dating from 1890 that puts me in mind of the sort of cosy bookshop you’d expect to see in Diagon Alley. The staff are lovely and with its squashy couches and tea and coffee, it is the type of dangerous book-store that actively encourages browsing and for people to stay in there forever! It is the sort of place I would happily move into and along with Barter Books up in Northumberland, is one of the best bookshops I have ever seen. The newer books in there are great, but there’s something infinitely reassuring about older books and this place has thousands of them.

Sigh.

Happy Sunday, everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

