February Reading Analysis

Hello all. February was a really good month for me; I turned thirty and though I may be older, it’s safe to deduce that I’m probably not any wiser. I also had a brilliant city break to Amsterdam with my fiancé, spent a nice weekend in Derbyshire with my parents and got a lot of reading done in between. I finished 16 books altogether- a much smaller number than January, though I read some chunksters in amongst that total and I’ve been quite busy generally, so I’m pretty happy all in all.

This is the epic pile of books I got for my birthday:

February

Oh my pretties… Combined with the stack I got for Christmas and what was already lurking on my shelves, it’s safe to say that I now have enough reading material to keep me going until well into 2015.

Ahem. In other news, I have now completely failed at one of my 2014 literary resolutions– buying a couple of Kindle books in the month and not getting around to reading them straight away. Oh well. In all honesty, I’m surprised that resolution lasted as long as it did; there have been some really fantastic book offers on Amazon lately. Despite that, I’m still going pretty well with the other resolutions, so there’s hope for me yet… right?

My favourite read in February was without a doubt The Girl with all the Gifts by MR Carey which was an absolutely cracking zombie novel, but so different from everything else in this genre that I have read before. Suffice to say it will definitely be making an appearance on my Top Reads of 2014, I know that already!  I also really enjoyed the ‘non-fictional novel’ In Cold Blood by Truman Capote.  I just started the third book in the ‘Wool’ series yesterday by Hugh Howie, which also probably would have made the monthly favourites list, but with it being the last book in the series (sob!) I’m trying to take my time and savour it.

I completed a few more classics in the month as well- a short story collection by W. Somerset Maugham, a book by Jules Verne and a short story by Ernest Hemingway. I’m also half-way through Crime and Punishment by Dostoevsky, a mammoth read but a very worthwhile one.  I reviewed a couple of books on behalf of Netgalley and one on behalf of Lovereading- the cleverly crafted Mother, Mother  a thriller by Koren Zailckas. Some of the links to these reviews are on my 2014 reading list already, but I will update the others when they go online.

In amongst the February reading I also picked up The Dark Half by Stephen King, which I found languishing amongst my shelves. Though not his best novel by any stretch of the imagination, I often find myself in the sort of mood where only a Stephen King novel will do- and I can’t bring myself to pick up anything else until I’ve read one. Does anyone else get that? Who’s your ‘go to’ author?

I must be on something of a roll as well, as there were no particularly dull books I encountered in the month, just like I experienced in January. I really hope this continues to be the case!

In March, I don’t have any particular reading targets, other than starting to work my way through my (immensely overstocked) shelves. I think that’s certainly enough for me to be getting on with- though a lot of what is on there now encompasses reads from The Guardian’s list, so hopefully that’s two boxes ticked off in one go for me.  I’m also not sure as to what my next chunky non-fiction read will be, having finally completed The Knife Man. At the moment I’m just enjoying ploughing my way through some fiction, to be honest.

On that note, I will leave you with this photograph, taken in Amsterdam:

DSC_5042

This is the library in the Rijksmuseum. Isn’t it beautiful? Between that, the Van Gogh Museum and all of the other fabulous places we saw over there, I feel much more culturally enlightened than usual!

Sigh. I already want to go back.

I hope everyone has a great reading month! 🙂

Leave a Reply

