December 2013- A Reading Analysis

Hi all! I hope everyone had a great Christmas and a fantastic New Year.

Xmas TreeOur Christmas was lovely and peaceful. The weather has been pretty mild in our part of the UK for a change, so it’s given us the opportunity to do lots of walking- and reading- during the Christmas break. Last year the snowfall was pretty excessive and we barely left the house, but this year we’ve yet to see a single flake fall in our area. I’m definitely savouring this unprecedented good weather.

Anyway, *Celebratory Klaxon:* I FINALLY finished Moby Dick!! Yes, that’s right. After starting it waaaayyy back in November and finding it admittedly pretty tough in places (not to mention a teensy bit dull), I am pleased to say that I completed it at last- at the start of December which seems a REALLY long time ago now! Another mammoth book crossed off the Guardian 1000 books to read… list. In all honesty, some parts of it I really loved and were quite exciting; it’s not difficult to see why it has stood the test of time, but… great swathes of it are just so. bloody. boring.

I completed 17  books in December. Way more than I got through in November, but I did have the great pleasure of finishing work on the 20th December and I’m not back again until 2nd January. LOTS of extra reading time for this bookworm has been very welcome.

I read a bit more chick-lit in the month again too; in between reading more heavy-going books (like the aforementioned Moby Dick) or some detailed non-fiction (Bill Bryson’s Made in America which I’m still reading), it was so nice just to pick up something light-hearted and entertaining that I had no real preconceptions about. I’d bought a few cheap Kindle romance books on Amazon and genuinely enjoyed ploughing my way through them. My favourite of these was definitely Don’t Tell The Groom by Anna Bell, which has made me even more excited about my own wedding!

My favourite books in December were A Song in the Daylight by Paullina Simons and the late contender, The Cuckoo’s Calling, which I devoured in practically one sitting.

The worst book I picked up in the month was The Salem Witch Society by K.N. Shields; a murder-mystery novel that I expected would be fascinating but was unfortunately so dull I couldn’t even bring myself to finish it. The pace was ploddingly slow and there were so many periphery characters that I had to keep reminding myself who was who. Definitely not an author I would consider reading again, I’m afraid. I also couldn’t finish Miracle on Regent Street by Ali Harris, which far from the festive feel-goodness I was expecting, was twee beyond belief and incredibly cringey from the outset. Call it a book blip, because a lot of people seem to love it, but it just wasn’t for me.

Anyway, I will be back in the next couple of days with a review of my favourite books of the year. Until then, I hope everyone has a very happy start to 2014 

Leave a Reply

