Lovereading Reader Review- How To Fall In Love; Cecilia Ahern

At the start of October, I was sent an advance reader review copy of Cecilia Ahern’s new novel ‘How To Fall In Love.’  Due for release in the UK in November, the book chronicles the story of recruitment officer Christine, who stops Adam from jumping to his death from a bridge in Dublin with the promise that within two weeks, she can show him that life really is worth living… 

Oh Cecelia. This book sounded so promising, so I really don’t know what happened. 

I appreciate that you chose to work with a difficult subject matter, but that is really no excuse for the lack of depth you gave your characters, the rushed plot lines and the basic lack of chemistry in what was deemed to be a romance novel.   

I was so disappointed by this book, which not only did I felt somewhat glossed over the seriousness of suicide, but also trivialised it as part of a storyline that suggested that within two weeks, everything will be ok after all. All you need is love to entirely forget your problems and the fact that you had planned to kill yourself. 

Ack. 

You can read my review (and other reviews) of this book here. I’m afraid this was a 2.5 star rating from me, though I’m sure a lot of people will love it- and judging by the other reviews on Lovereading, most people did!

Thanks to Lovereading and Harper Collins for the review opportunity.

One response to “Lovereading Reader Review- How To Fall In Love; Cecilia Ahern

  1. Pingback: October Reading Analysis | my good bookshelf·

Leave a Reply

