September Reading Analysis

Hi everyone! Well, it seems like autumn has well and truly set in now in the UK, so that’s been the perfect excuse for me to curl up with some good books as the dark nights have started drawing in. As far as I’m concerned, that’s probably the best thing about the autumn, that and the leaves changing so beautifully on the trees. I’m not a fan of the colder weather at all and would definitely prefer sunshine all year round! Though for once, our summer in the UK has been pretty decent, so I suppose I can’t really complain too much.

Though I didn’t actually get very much reading done, September was still a really brilliant month for me on the personal front. Whilst in Reykjavik at the start of the month, my boyfriend of eight years and I got engaged! Needless to say, this has led to me binging on a few more romance novels in subsequent weeks… as we have already pinned down a date for our wedding (May 2015) and secured a gorgeous venue! I’m going through a real phase of chick-lit books at the moment (between reading some heftier books). Aside from the aforementioned chick-lit, I didn’t actually get that much reading (or reviewing!) done in the month so apologies for that- I’ve just been too excited about planning our wedding and I also attended a friend’s hen-do in Newcastle which has made me feel very excited about organising my own!

Iceland-4616Right: We actually saw the Northern Lights. Amazing.

Anyway, Reykjavik was a beautiful city with lots to see and somewhere that I can heartily recommend visiting, though it was very expensive! I got a bit of reading done whilst I was there, namely Amy Tan’s newest novel The Valley of Amazement which was a brilliant historical read- my review for this will follow on here when it goes live on Lovereading’s site. I also finished The Troop by Nick Cutter which was a somewhat gory horror and a genre that I don’t read a great deal of, though a book I enjoyed more than I expected.

I only completed 15 books in the month, though there were some hefty reads in there that seemed to take me forever to plough through, and like I say, I’ve just been too excited to read very much recently.  My favourites were the aforementioned Amy Tan novel and Laini Taylor’s Days of Blood and Starlight which is the second book in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy which I fell completely in love with last year.

I also read Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell-which I’ve been meaning to get around to for ages- and despite its lack of any real plot, loved it for its witty observations on human life, social class and its subtle humour. It had a surprisingly touching ending which I really enjoyed.  I finally finished The Holocaust by Martin Gilbert as well, which was such an important read and I’m now in search of another chunky ‘bedtime book’ though unsurprisingly, I do have lots on my shelves to choose from.

In October I’m attending another two weddings (!) and the rest of my weekends seem to be taken up with other social events, so I’m not banking on getting very much reading done again, unfortunately. I do have a small stack next to my bed which I plan on making inroads into if I can.

I hope everyone has a great reading month!  🙂

Leave a Reply

