An early August Reading Analysis

I’m posting my August reading analysis a little bit early this month, because tomorrow I’m off to Reykjavik for a few days with my boyfriend and my parents. I’ve never been to Iceland before and it’s a while since I’ve been on a city break abroad so I’m really looking forward to it. I have a review book from Lovereading to take with me for the plane ride (Amy Tan’s new novel The Valley of Amazement), but like my trip back in February, I’m guessing I won’t get a whole lot of reading done whilst I’m actually there!

So, not only did my little blog turn a whole year old this month, but August was basically full of romance too.  We attended our good friends’ from university’s wedding and I also, rather fittingly, binged on a slew of romance novels, many of them advance review copies from Netgalley.  I read quite a lot of heavy-going fiction and non-fiction in August too and sometimes I just wanted some light, good, old-fashioned romance books to curl up with instead. I’m a real sucker for chicklit on occasion; I regularly go through phases of ploughing through stacks of Harlequin/ Mills & Boon books. I can read dozens back to back and then literally not pick any more up for months. It’s not even like I can accuse them of being a ‘guilty pleasure’ as I’m not remotely ashamed of the habit! Some of the reviews I’ve written for these books aren’t loaded online yet, but keep checking out my 2013 reading list which will be updated with the links when they go live.

Speaking of heavy-going non-fiction, I read an eye-opening, brilliant book about North Korea by Barbara Demick and finally finished Bess of Hardwick by Mary S. Lovell which was an amazing read. I’m a bit obsessed with Bess, now!

My new bedtime book is an even heftier tome about the Holocaust by Martin Gilbert; see what I mean about the non-fiction being tough? I’m halfway through Gilbert’s book right now and whilst I loved studying history at school, there was a lot about the lead up to WWII that I didn’t remember and I wanted my mind refreshing. Gilbert’s book is certainly an important one, so needless to say I’m talking my time with it and put it down for a bit whenever my concentration seems to waver.

I read a couple more books from The Guardian’s 1000 books to read list too in August, as per my To Be Read Shelf. My friend has raided her bookshelves and has lent me a ton more from that list only recently so undoubtedly I’ll be ploughing my way through those over the next few months.

I finished 19 books in August. My favourite books were The World is a Wedding by Wendy Jones (which despite the connotations of the title wasn’t chicklit!) and The Eternal War– the fourth book in the TimeRiders series by Alex Scarrow. I really love that YA series! I also spent a couple of weeks reading The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood and though not my favourite of hers, enjoyed it immensely. It was yet another hefty read though…!

Fortunately, I can’t think of any of my August reads that have been completely terrible; other than a Kindle freebie which I couldn’t finish, I was pretty lucky with what I picked up this month. I did find Women in Love by D.H. Lawrence to be pretty hard going though- it took me what felt like forever to get through it and I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as I’d anticipated at the time, though looking back the prose was beautiful.

In September I’m planning on continuing with the theme of completing some more novels from The Guardian’s list, as well as reviewing some more books on behalf of Netgalley (I have some ready to go at the moment) and hopefully some more from Lovereading too if the opportunity comes up.

I hope everyone has a good reading month!  🙂

Leave a Reply

