May Reading Analysis

May has certainly been a mixed bag both book and weather-wise. A couple of gloriously hot bank holiday weekends spent slaving away in our garden were quickly followed by lots of drizzle and clouds for the next few days weeks, albeit with some very sporadic hot and sunny intervals in-between which has left me (and the poor plants in my garden) completely confused. Not good. At least all the strange weather has meant I don’t feel guilty about lounging around with a good pile of books, and the start of June looks like it’s going to be much hotter. Hooray!

May has been a month of reading crime novels for me- almost to the extent where I found myself getting a bit sick of the genre in fact! I read the new Nicci French novel Waiting for Wednesday, as well as the third Department Q novel by Jussi Adler-Olsen- Redemption, amongst others. If you are fans of both of those authors, then you will be pleased to know that these are books worth waiting for which continue their respective series beautifully. I have definitely been on a bit of a Scandi-Crime kick as of late, reading the first couple of Camilla Läckberg’s Patrick Hëdstrom novels too, which I enjoyed greatly.

I completed 27 books in May. My favourite books of the month in terms of fiction were definitely The Torment of Others by Val McDermid and Wool by Hugh Howey, which was a truly exceptional read. I couldn’t put it down and I’m so glad I have book two (Shift) to read next!

I have also begun Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness which is on my To Be Read Shelf and is the follow up to A Discovery of Witches. My overall impression of this book so far? It is only so-so and far too descriptive for my tastes. I started it a while ago and am dipping in and out of it, but am in no massive rush to complete it.

In terms of non-fiction, I didn’t get through many in May. I read Curtains: Adventures of an Undertaker-in-Training by Tom Jokinen which was ok, though a bit too bogged down in detail on occaision. I also read a travel book on my Kindle which had lots of little vignettes in it that I dipped in and out of. It was entertaining, but nothing fabulous, unfortunately. I hope to get lots more non-fiction completed in June.

The most disappointing book for me in May was definitely Level 2 by Lenore Appelhans, which I couldn’t even finish. I think being an atheist, its constant references to Christianity completely wore me down and I gave up at about thirty percent into it. I hate to DNF any book and its premise sounded amazing, but I just couldn’t complete it for that reason. It was a strange combination of science fiction, Christianity and mythology. A lot of other book bloggers have a completely different opinion on this novel though and absolutely loved it, so maybe it’s just me! I also thoroughly disliked The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway, which was a review book for Lovereading and one I felt obliged to finish but which left me feeling distinctly underwhelmed.

I’ve also been very good and donated a lot of books to the charity shop this month. I only bought a couple of new novels in May, both ones that were on offer at the supermarket. The majority of my May books have been review copies, old ones from my shelves or ones that I have borrowed from friends. I feel very virtuous!

Below are the links to the reviews I have completed on behalf of Lovereading and Netgalley this month:

I am really looking forward to next months reading.  I hope everyone has a great (sunny) June!

Leave a Reply

