Lovereading Reader Review: The River of No Return; Bee Ridgway

I received a copy of The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway for review from Lovereading recently.

Ridgway’s debut novel is a time-travelling romance which sees a soldier from Georgian Britain transported to the present-day just as he is about to be slaughtered on a Napoleonic battlefield. He has been rescued (recruited) by a mysterious organisation known as The Guild and ten-years-later is ordered by them to travel back to his own time once more to prevent their enemies from controlling-and ultimately destroying- the future.

Time travel books sometimes really mess with my head. I was so excited to read it though, as it has accolades comparing it to The Time Travellers Wife, which is one of my favourite novels. Alas, it is nothing like TTW. Aside from the fact that both books have time travel in them, that is.

What can I say about this book? I disliked it and I didn’t care about any of its characters, some of whom acted in ways that I just didn’t expect, given the era that they were in. I have never known a novel to drag as much as this one did. If I hadn’t felt obliged to finish it because of it being a review copy, safe to say that it would have been a DNF book. It bored me, which is such a shame as I had such high hopes for it. I think overall my rating for it is probably 2 out of 5 stars.

I know. Pretty disappointing, right?

You can read my review (and other reviewers thoughts) of The River of No Return here. Don’t let my judgement put you off, so many other people have really loved this book. Sadly, I wasn’t one of them.

Thanks to both Lovereading and Penguin UK for the review opportunity.

One response to “Lovereading Reader Review: The River of No Return; Bee Ridgway

  1. Pingback: May Reading Analysis | my good bookshelf·

Leave a Reply

