April Reading Analysis

April was such a good reading month for me, I read some really cracking novels and even managed to complete Stephen King’s The Stand at last! Though I definitely enjoyed it, by the end it was feeling like a bit of an albatross around my neck, I have to admit. Even at the pace of a steady few chapters a night, I don’t think it’s ever taken me as long to finish a book before. In between reading I also managed to get lots of bits done in our garden, and though it’s safe to say it’s still not feeling like summer is on its way in a few months, it has been decidedly more spring-like in the UK as of late.

I read 23 books in April. Not as many as I usually get through, but I have been busy doing other things, so I’m happy with what I managed to read. Without a doubt, my favourite fiction books of the month were the first in the TimeRiders series by Alex Scarrow, and The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult. I loved TimeRiders, which is YA sci-fi and has such a brilliant, attention-grabbing premise; I also read book two, but will be trying to slow down my pace in order to not read the rest of them too quickly! (I did that with Michael Grant’s Gone series and then immediately regretted it….) Jodi’s book focused on the holocaust and was a dual time frame narrative between WWII and the present day. Though not my favourite Picoult novel to date, it was an excellent, thought-provoking read. I always get so excited whenever she releases a new book!

In terms of non-fiction books, I actually didn’t read too many in April, particularly in comparison to how many I got through in March. I’ve been on a bit of an animal/nature kick again though and enjoyed The Drunken Forest by Gerald Durrell, as well as We Bought a Zoo by Benjamin Mee. Botswana Time was an excellent travel memoir that has encouraged me to visit the country in the near future. I also read a couple of books about true crime and serial killers (my weird obsession coming into play again there…), that weren’t actually that great when I think about them in hindsight, though they were admittedly quick, easy reading. Sometimes you just want ‘switch-your-brain-off’ books and they fitted the bill nicely.

I’ve had a few books to review on behalf of Lovereading and Netgalley as well. I fell absolutely in love with the gorgeous cover of Judith Kinghorn’s ‘The Memory of Lost Senses’ though admittedly the contents of the book were a bit of a let-down in comparison. Too many jumps around in time for my tastes meant that this piece of historical romance confused me a lot. I loved her debut ‘The Last Summer’ and felt that her second novel was somewhat weak by contrast. You can read what I (and some other reviewers) thought of it here.

The Rosie Project was a terrific review read; I began it thinking it would be far too similar to the ‘Edward’ books by Craig Lancaster that I have read only recently, but luckily those fears proved unfounded. This is a book that’s generating a lot of buzz and it’s easy to see why. I haven’t posted a review of it on my blog, but you can read my thoughts on The Rosie Project here.

I enjoyed The Boy Who Could See Demons by Carolyn Jess-Cooke too… until the ending, which felt like such a cop-out. The first half of the book was truly amazing however and a lot of people on various book forums and blogs have loved this book, so check it out and see what you think.

So what have I got to look forward to in May? Hopefully some sunshine will bring about reading in the back garden for a change- I have a sun-lounger at the ready! I have more in the TimeRiders series to continue with, as well as some books that have been languishing on the floor next to my bed for a couple of weeks, among of which are some chick-lit, a few Peter James horror books I picked up in a charity shop and also an Arthur C. Clarke book I have been promising my boyfriend I will get around to reading. A friend has also just passed across Wool by Hugh Howey for me to read, which I can’t wait to get stuck into- and I have some more review copies from Lovereading on their way, too, which I will post links to on here when they go live.  Not to mention the novel I am most excited about starting- Light by Michael Grant- is whiling its way across to me in the post as I type this. Curling up in the back garden with a book sounds like the perfect May to me.

I hope everyone has a good reading month

One response to “April Reading Analysis

Leave a Reply

