Back from my holidays- and a belated February Reading Analysis

Hi everyone. I’m back from my holiday and had the most amazing time whale-watching in Baja California and Mexico. My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to encounter all kinds of marine life in that beautiful part of the world, including humpbacks and grey whales and a lot of blue whales, which was mind-blowing. We saw several species of dolphin (some which bow-rode right alongside our boat!), elephant and Guadalupe fur seals and he was even brave enough to swim with sea-lions- I wasn’t though! 

DSC_1458

Above: Photo of a humpback whale fluke in front of our boat, taken by my boyfriend, Andrew.

We also feel very privileged to have been allowed into the incredible San Ignacio lagoon to touch the grey whales and their calves from panga’s (small wooden boats). Seeing such enormous, gentle creatures close up was very humbling and unsurprisingly, I loved every second of the trip. 

Below:  A grey whale calf approaching our panga in the San Ignacio Lagoon. Photo again taken by Andrew.

DSC_1588

I got some reading done whilst I was away too- not as much as I had actually anticipated as there was so much to experience during the days, as well as spending time with some lovely people alongside us on the boat. Needless to say, I thought I would still include a brief reading analysis for February here. I will be posting reviews as usual shortly for books I am reading in March- so expect normal service to resume imminently!

I read 19 books in February, a lot of which were Kindle editions for obvious reasons. I also found that I read a lot more non-fiction in the month than usual, so it won’t surprise you to hear that my favourite February read fell under this category. I really loved Life on Air by the British broadcaster Sir David Attenborough. These memoirs chronicle the fascinating life of one of my favourite nature presenters as well as widely examine the interesting places he has explored and the animals he has encountered along the way. It was a bit less personal than I was perhaps expecting, focusing mainly on his long career, but absorbing nonetheless.

My favourite fiction book of the month was Love In The Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, which I started reading on the outbound plane and seemed to take me an absolute age to get through! I loved this novel, which I have been meaning to pick up for a very long time. This story explores love in all of its forms and I just found it to be so beautifully written that it really captivated me. Unfortunately, I didn’t get around to reviewing either of my favourite February reads as time was so pressing. Needless to say, if you love animal related memoirs then I can highly recommend the Attenborough book. 

I didn’t really pick up any disappointing novels in February at all- I’m on a bit of a roll at the moment! I suppose Warm Bodies was perhaps a bit less exciting than I had anticipated, but that was mainly because I bought into the hype around it so much. I really must learn not to do that!

I hope everyone has a good reading month and I will be back with some more reviews again soon. My to be read pile is increasing by the day– eek, so at this time I am still unfortunately unable to accept any further author reviews until I make my way further down the stack. I hope this changes in the near future.

Leave a Reply

