December Reading Analysis

I hope everyone had a good, bookish Christmas. I know I certainly did well book-wise, receiving some titles I have been looking forward to getting my hands on for ages. I also received a couple of books for review from Lovereading during the month (links to these reviews will follow in a future post, when they have gone live on that site).

I completed 27 books in December, though a few of these were novellas. Unusually, all of the books were also fiction- my aim for 2013 is definitely to read more non-fiction than I have this year. Some of December’s books were also provided to me by Netgalley for review and if the reviews haven’t been posted directly on my blog, then you can find some of the links to them either here or on my Goodreads page.

My favourite books of the month were without a doubt Stolen by Lucy Christopher and The Girl in Times Square by Paullina Simons. Both of these were brilliantly addictive reading, though not particularly festive, of course. The least enjoyable were probably The Tommyknockers by Stephen King, because it dragged on for so long, and Sleep Pale Sister by Joanne Harris, neither of which I have posted a review for, because doing that would bring back the monotony of reading them. I love both of those authors, but neither of these novels were my cup of tea.

On a more personal front, the end of December has been a very sad time for me and my family, as last Saturday (29th December), I lost my beloved granda, Terry. His death was very sudden and as a result of this, my blog posts may be somewhat sporadic over the next few weeks. I have a few scheduled posts planned over the next couple of days, but other than that, as I’m sure you can all appreciate, I’m not particularly in a reading mood at the moment.

However you are spending your New Years celebrations this year, I hope it is with people that you love and care about and I wish all of you the very best for 2013.

Leave a Reply

